Skip to content
December 7, 2009 / Christian M.

It’s A New Day

Always remember you are valuable, ” – my new supervisor told me this during my first week of work. She will be watching me like a hawk during my six month probation – although she says she can tell I will be marvelous. I do plan to live up to her expectations. A little birdie told me that many people applied for this position, some being turned down without an interview. I know there were a number of people who were interviewed before me, because I was the last interview of the day. I guess I made a good impression, I was offered the job three days later.

I don’t say all this to brag, but just to marvel on how doors will open and everything will fall into place when the time is right. I am now a Library Associate. I applied to this job on a whim. I had reached the glass ceiling at my previous job with no more room for professional growth, and I was ready to change careers. This LA position was the perfect next step in getting to where I needed to be. I knew I met the qualifications, but I also knew that with two area schools offering library science programs, I had to be competing against some applicants who had already completed their MLS degree. I assumed that a master’s degree would trump the three years of experience I had working in my campus library during undergrad studies. I guess I was wrong.

This is a generalist branch. All the staff must work with all age groups. We do have two rooms, one for youth services, and one for adult services. The librarians and LAs rotate their shifts so everyone spends time in both areas. Right now most of my time is spent at the information desk (under the supervision of other staff), where I assist customers in finding the resources they need. I am also responsible for certain sections of the collection, and check regularly to make sure the items are in order, and any worn out materials are removed. I have a checklist of skills that I need to learn within the next year, and my list of responsibilities will broaden as I continue my training.

It’s a new day in my professional life….and I could not be happier to see the sun rising each morning with more opportunities for continued growth.

Leave a Reply

