Skip to content
March 29, 2010 / Christian M.

My Favorite Type of Poetry is Narrative

So I have been searching the internet today for poems about poetry or libraries to include in a book display for National Poetry Month.  I have decided  that narrative poetry is my favorite.  The narrative poem tells a story, and the poem can be any length, and the story can be simple or complex. This is one I found today that I really liked:

I Stop Writing the Poem

to fold the clothes. No matter who lives
or who dies, I’m still a woman.
I’ll always have plenty to do.
I bring the arms of his shirt
together. Nothing can stop
our tenderness. I’ll get back
to the poem. I’ll get back to being
a woman. But for now
there’s a shirt, a giant shirt
in my hands, and somewhere a small girl
standing next to her mother
watching to see how it’s done.

by Tess Gallagher

Here are two more (non-narrative) poems that I enjoyed as well:

How To Eat a Poem

Don’t be polite.
Bite in.
Pick it up with your fingers and lick the juice that

may run down your chin.
It is ready and ripe now, whenever you are.

You do not need a knife or fork or spoon
or plate or napkin or tablecloth.

For there is no core
or stem
or rind
or pit
or seed
or skin
to throw away.

by Eve Merriam

Young Poets

Write as you will
In whatever style you like
Too much blood has run under the bridge
To go on believing
That only one road is right.

In poetry everything is permitted.

With only this condition of course,
You have to improve the blank page.

by Nicanor Parra (trans. by Miller Williams)

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Mechelle Fogelsong / Apr 1 2010 8:07 am

    I tried to find contact info on your blog, but I didn’t see anything like that. So here’s a comment instead:

    Have you thought about hosting a party for teen readers in honor of the upcoming release of ECLIPSE, the movie? Teens love these Twilight books!

    On my blog today, I posted my own party planner (I’m a reading teacher, and I work with my librarian a lot). It’s free—I’m happy to share. Come on over to http://passinglovenotes.wordpress.com and download a copy for your library to use!

  2. LibGirl09 / Apr 1 2010 1:18 pm

    Thanks Mechelle for stopping by my blog and sharing your ideas! I will definitely keep the Eclipse party in mind. I’ll be coming through to visit your blog as well. 🙂

Leave a Reply

