Skip to content
September 29, 2010 / Christian M.

“Charades” at the Info Desk

A woman came to the Information Desk and asked for books on telecommunications.  And as I asked further questions, she said “you know movement.” So then I asked “do you want a book on telecommunications, or movement.” She said “movement.”

So I’m looking under subject headings like mobility, motor skills, and kinesiology. Then she asked, “do you understand what I want? You know, like when a person does this,” and she folds her arms.

And I replied, “oh, you mean body language.” And she says, “Yes, that’s right! I know I got a book from here before about that.” So I looked up body language and showed her where the section is on the shelf.

If a game of 20 Questions fails, just ask the customer to act out what they want.  The answers will come one way or another.  🙂

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Karla / Sep 29 2010 4:46 pm

    At first I thought she may have meant telekinesis! Way to work through that one.

  2. LibGirl09 / Sep 29 2010 6:21 pm

    lol, thanks Karla. It was really interesting. She was very focused on movement and communication. I was so confused! Definitely helps to keep asking as many questions as needed to make sure you’re both on the same page.

Leave a Reply

