Skip to content
November 2, 2010 / Christian M.

If You’re Happy And You Know It, Beep Your Nose!

Today was my first time leading storytime…..and it went pretty well.  I counted twenty-two children–although there may have been a few more.  I had mostly three and four year olds, and some who looked to be six or seven.

I was a little nervous, and I messed up a few of the rhymes, but I don’t think they knew the difference. lol

Things I learned — don’t read two books back-to-back….you start to lose them on the second one unless it is a very interactive story.

The storytime is supposed to be 30 minutes….I think I went a little over….I honestly didn’t pay attention to the clock and just went by my program outline. Next time I will keep track of time….and probably won’t read as many books. More songs, and action rhymes. 🙂

Of the books I read today, the ones that seemed the biggest hit: Duck On A Bike by David Shannon, Chicka Chicka Boom Boom, by Bill Martin Jr., and Opposnakes by Salina Yoon.  And they loved all the songs and rhymes that got them up and moving.

At my branch, we rotate leading storytime, so my next turn will be in three weeks.  My project between now and then is to make some flannel pieces for telling stories or rhymes on the flannel board. I’m really not the most crafty person, so this should be interesting. I don’t even know where to buy flannel material!

Leave a Reply

