Skip to content
November 22, 2010 / Christian M.

“Where Can I Buy Your Hair?” — Just Another Day at the Office

So I have my hair styled in twists today …….

…………and here is what happens………..

Customer (woman with daughter): “Can I speak to you for a moment?”
Me: “Yes” — and I walk to other side of the info desk.
Her (leaning close and speaking quietly): “What type of hair is that, is that – ?” and names some type of weave hair I never heard of.
Me: “It’s …  mine.”
Her: “Oh,  really? Can you turn around?”
I just smile and turn around so she can see the back of my hair.
Her:  “….and it’s yours…….if you say so…..”
She then asks me to look up some information online for her daughter.
As I do this, she interrupts me to say, “But your hair is really pretty, it just looks like [insert name of weave hair].”

The whole time we’re talking she is studying me (and my hair!) very carefully, as if I had found the holy grail of weave hair and was seriously holding out on her. I promise you lady, I was born with this! Sheesh, maybe I should grow it out and sell it.

 

On a more productive note….tomorrow is my next story time shift. So I decided to use my lap theater. I spent most of the day in between customers working on some paper puppets to use with a couple of nursery rhymes. I think my crafty side is coming out! Coloring and cutting paper is actually very therapeutic….I think I should do this more often. 🙂

Hey Diddle Diddle with the lap theater

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Evelyn N. Alfred / Nov 10 2011 10:59 pm

    LOL! At least she didn’t reach out and touch it.

    • LibGirl09 / Nov 11 2011 1:07 pm

      True! Touches from strangers is not cool. I’ve had my hair much longer (and shorter) than this pic. I receive more touch attempts when it’s long. smh

Leave a Reply

