Skip to content
February 5, 2011 / Christian M.

These Are The Moments That Make Me Go “Huh?”….and Then I Laugh

Customer:  “I’ve had my eyes on you.”
Me: “Huh”

Him: “I had my eyes on you….you know, like love at first sight.”

Me: “Okay……”

Him: “You have a man?”

Me: “Yes”

Him: “Well we can be friends…nothing wrong with just being friends, right?”

(Ah, that infamous “we can be friends” line – really guys, stop lying. You don’t wanna be my friend….you want something else.)

Me: *silence, as I take in his scruffy appearance, blood-shot eyes, and alcoholic breath*

Him:  “You know what I mean right?” *Then begins to tell me how he can satisfy my “needs” – I will spare you the details.*

Me: *laughing in his face*

Him: “You laughing, but I’m serious. Your man doesn’t need to know.  I can make you happy.”

Me: “I’m happy with the man I have, and he satisfies all my needs.”

Him: “Alright…. but if you change your mind, let me know.”

Me: “Have a nice day.”

Then I look for the hand sanitizer, because he touched my hand while he was talking. Do they make ear sanitizer too? ‘Cause I really didn’t want to hear that mess. *smh*

***

This reminds me of the teen who came in last week and asked if I was married. I said “no.” This made him happy because he wanted to hook me up with his uncle. He was ready to call his uncle on the phone right there in the library so I could talk to him. I said “no, thank you.” The boy got a little bit of an attitude about that…..I don’t know why.

What’s wrong with men, that they can’t accept the word “no”? Like the forty-something year old man—missing some critical front teeth—that passed me a note saying he liked what he saw, and included his phone number. The next day he came back to the library and asked me why I hadn’t called, and what I did with his number.  Ummm, the number is safely in the trash…sorry….

Well this was an interesting end to my otherwise dull Saturday…..thanks to the person who jinxed me by telling me earlier today that these type of crazy situations are what make my blog interesting. You know who you are.

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Variegated Stacks / Feb 6 2011 3:06 am

    LOL…it wasn’t me, but this was certainly entertaining. Nothing like comic relief on a Saturday afternoon.

  2. LibGirl09 / Feb 6 2011 11:55 am

    The funny part is that it had been a very, very quiet Saturday….I actually didn’t feel like dealing with drama, so I was glad. This crazy conversation happened within the last hour before we closed. I did end up appreciating the laugh after all. 🙂

  3. Denise @How Mama Got Her Swag Back / Feb 16 2011 9:51 pm

    Wait.. WHAT??? You can’t be serious. You made all that up. LMAO! Dudes are a mess and a half. *smh*

    BTW, thank you so much for visiting my blog. You have no idea how much I appreciate it.

    • LibGirl09 / Feb 17 2011 9:58 am

      @ Denise: You’re welcome! And thank you for visiting mine. 🙂 And I wish I did make this up, but nooooo, everything in that post really happened. I just *smh* at these men too….

Leave a Reply

