Skip to content
April 7, 2011 / Christian M.

There Are Librarians Improving the Quality of Your Health Care

So I have decided that I want to work in the health care field as a librarian. Health sciences librarians provide resources and services to physicians, health professionals, and researchers to assist them in staying updated on new developments in their area of specialty. They may also provide consumer health information to patients and laypersons.

These librarians can work in hospitals, universities, research centers, pharmaceutical companies, consumer health libraries, and government agencies. Basically anywhere medical information is needed.

I have been conducting some informal interviews with current medical librarians to learn more about this career path. I will be posting soon about the responses I received. I also had the opportunity to shadow the library staff of a hospital last week. I will share more about this experience as well.

Interesting things are happening; I just need to make more time to blog about them!

For more information about health sciences librarianship see:

Medical Library Association: Career Exploration

What Do Medical Librarians Do?

Explore Health Careers: Medical Librarian

 

 

In other news……

  • I have seven adults signed up for my first session of computer classes. We start next week!
  • I forgot to mention that after six months without a branch manager, the system finally  hired a new manager for my library in mid-March.
2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Lesley / Apr 7 2011 10:43 am

    Sounds like a fun project, interviewing medical librarians! How did you get interested in medical librarianship? (My apologies if you mentioned this in an earlier post.)

  2. LibGirl09 / Apr 7 2011 10:58 am

    No, I haven’t really talked about my interest in medical libraries on this blog yet. When I applied to grad school in 2009, I stated I was interested in both public and special libraries. But by the time I started school in fall 2010, I knew public libraries were not where I wanted to stay. So I started reading up on different types of special libraries, and medical librarianship really caught my attention. Then I emailed various librarians to ask for their feedback. They were all very happy to share. The more I learn about it, the more I am convinced I’m on the right path. Of course I will also try my best to fit in a volunteer or internship experience before I graduate.

Leave a Reply

