Skip to content
June 28, 2011 / Christian M.

My Library “Stalker”

So I have an admirer …. but it’s no secret. He asked a co-worker about me last week before I even met him face-to-face.  Evidently, he observed me before I noticed him. Each day he sees me (which is becoming every day now), he tells me how beautiful I am. Every time I cross his line of vision, his face lights up, and he smiles and waves. Sometimes I pretend I don’t see him though. Whichever floor of the library I am working on, I see him there on the computer …or “reading” a book…or graciously playing checkers with a child. I even suspect he followed me once when I walked to the grocery store on my lunch break…..but maybe it was just a coincidence.

He asked me if I’m seeing someone.

I said yes.

He asked me for my phone number.

I said no.

He asked me to play him in checkers/chess, and if I lose, I have to give him my number.

I said no.

He asked if we could just be friends.

I said no.

Now, he asks me for information:

–       Where are the math books?

–       Can I have a pencil and paper?

–       Where are the books about the human brain?

–       Where is the closest army/airforce/navy recruiter?

And while I look for his information, he has the opportunity to extol my beauty and tell me how attracted he is to me.  He also doesn’t believe I really have a boyfriend. When I assure him that I do, he adamantly tells me he “can date me better.”

Oh, and the first day he tried to talk to me, he told me that I might as well call the police on him, because he’s not going to stop asking for my number until I give in.

I think he seriously underestimates how stubborn I am — but just in case, I’ll keep 9-1-1 on speed dial.

😛

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Lesley / Jun 28 2011 2:46 pm

    Golly! Good luck! I’m sure your stubborness and professionalism with prevail! 🙂

    • LibGirl09 / Jun 29 2011 12:04 am

      Thanks! I’m sure everything will be fine….I’m more annoyed than anything else. I’ve been counseled via FB by some of my colleagues to discuss this situation with my boss, which I will do. One way or the other, we will get the message through that his attention is unwanted. 🙂

Leave a Reply

