Skip to content
June 29, 2011 / Christian M.

She Is Describing My Dream Job!!

Pam Kress-Dunn is a solo librarian at a hospital in Iowa and wrote the article Hospital Librarian  to explain what she does:

“ … I’m the one who does the lit searches, tracks down the articles in medical journals and finds the piece of information the doctor requires before the surgery that’s scheduled for noon.”

“… a hospital library is a sanctuary. It can be a relief to escape the medical floors for a while. And librarians may not be doctors or nurses, but we provide an essential kind of caregiving.”

This is exactly what I want to do – work in an environment where I can help doctors with research, give patients consumer health information, and even provide a collection of “fun” reads (I would also like some aspects of instruction and outreach as well). I wouldn’t even mind being a solo librarian.

It is exciting to find an article written by a current medical librarian giving the inside scoop on what she does in a hospital setting. What stood out to me is the variety of tasks she is involved in, and also her demonstration of professionalism in not getting too personally involved in the patients’ lives while at the same time being able to be supportive and empathetic to their needs.

I just had to share, hope you enjoy the read!  🙂

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Variegated Stacks / Jun 29 2011 3:37 pm

    2 Thumbs up!!! Awesome, thanks for sharing.

  2. Jothelibrarian / Jun 29 2011 4:41 pm

    I love the quotes! I spotted your blog on the ‘recently posted’ list on cpd23.blogspot.com and was intrigued by the post title. Although I don’t work in a hospital, Pam’s description really resonates with me. Thanks so much for sharing, and giving the link to the article. I shall have a read. And I’ve added your blog to my RSS reader 🙂

  3. Pam Kress-Dunn / Dec 14 2011 1:49 pm

    Hey! (Sorry — couldn’t find your name anywhere) A friend and fellow librarian told me he had come across this post, and your blog, and that you said I was describing your dream job. What a great thing to hear! My essay originally ran in Pulse: Voices from the Heart of Healthcare, an online journal of poetry and prose for people who work in health care. (www.pulsemagazine.org) It is heartening to read your posts, to feel your enthusiasm for something I do every day. I’m still pretty new at this myself, though I’m sure I’m old enough to be your mother. (Well — at least your older sister.) I’ve worked in public, archival, and academic libraries, and have never had so much autonomy, nor so much responsibility. As a “solo” librarian, I do it all. This afternoon my daughter, who got her own MLIS in May, is coming in to help me with a tedious cataloging project. Cataloging was the last thing on my mind in library school, but never say never. I wish you the best of luck in your endeavors. — Pam Kress-Dunn

    • LibGirl09 / Dec 16 2011 1:39 pm

      Hi Pam! Thanks for stopping by my blog. 🙂 (My name is Christian by the way). Being a solo librarian sounds pretty awesome, although I’m sure it is very demanding. Well thanks for writing that essay, it’s great for us current MLS students to be able to get a sneak peek into your daily responsibilities, and to learn about a fascinating area of librarianship. Good luck with the cataloging project! I have been debating whether I will take a cataloging course before I graduate. It’s not required in my program, and I do plan to be in public services……but like you said never say never….

Leave a Reply

