Skip to content
July 21, 2011 / Christian M.

Thing 5: I Just Need to Press the Pause Button Sometimes

Copyright (c) http://www.123rf.com

Thing 5 is about reflective practice. Reflective practice is the process of reviewing an experience, and noting what you learned from it and how you will apply the new knowledge to your future experiences.

I believe I am putting reflective practice into practice with my blog posts about the CPD23 course. However, it would be beneficial for me to use this process for other experiences as well. There are different models for reflective practice, and I think I like the Greenaway model: “Do-Review-Plan.” Aside from CPD23, I do a lot of reviewing of experiences on my blog, but I stop half-way and don’t quite make it to the planning phase of how to apply the new knowledge.

Many times though I don’t even take the time to review. For instance, I attended the ALA Spectrum Leadership Institute a month ago, and I still haven’t developed a concrete list of takeaways and things that I can start applying  immediately to my career and school experience. I’m just so busy! As soon as I returned from the conference, I started a summer class. So after dealing with work and homework, my brain feels too tired to produce critical analys’s and action plans.

So what I have learned from Thing 5 is that it’s not good to keep going and going and going. Sometime, somewhere, I need to press pause and reflect and plan. This will help me further develop my thoughts, ideas, and views on the issues at hand. There are so many times I read a great blog post or an interesting article, and the wheels start turning in my head about what I think. But then the wheels stop mid-way as I’m off to the next great thing. Hopefully, more reflection will produce more posts for my blog as well.

My plan of action in response to Thing 5?  To start journaling again. Sarah Stewart provides a good presentation about using journaling for reflective practice. I used to journal, mostly about personal things…but within the last four or five years I stopped altogether. I think it would be beneficial both personally and professionally to resume this activity, and expand it a little beyond just simply writing about daily events.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Rekesha Spellman / Jul 23 2011 9:48 am

    I like your idea of “press pause and reflect and plan.” Do you think there is a way to incorporate reflection into our daily work activities?

  2. LibGirl09 / Jul 30 2011 11:04 am

    That is a good question Rekesha. At the moment, I’m not sure. I work in a public library, and things are just going, going, going all the time. I may not have much “off-the-desk” time depending on staffing for the day. What would be really cool would be to have group reflection time. Where all the (in my situation) information staff can get together and discuss a particular project or situation and talk about what worked, what didn’t and how we can do better next time.

    So depending on your position, and the type of library you work in, if you can take some time to yourself during the day (other than lunchtime) then I think you can incorporate it into daily workday.

    I also think it would be useful for group reflection to be incorporated into staff meetings. In my branch, we have a staff meeting every two weeks. Mostly for us to inform each other of new info or events. But I could see how something like this could be used for reflection for our various services to the public as well.

Leave a Reply

