Skip to content
August 8, 2011 / Christian M.

Onward and Upward

 

Last week I finished my summer class, and in the process completed my last core course of the program. CUA has four courses that everyone is required to take, and students are strongly encouraged to take those classes first….although some put one or two off until their last semester. However, I decided to heed my academic advisor’s advice. So, I have taken five courses so far, four of which are the core courses. Now I am ready to move on to my “advanced” courses.

I have just a three-week break before fall semester starts. I’m trying my hardest to just relax and not think too much about school stuff. However, I’m so EXCITED about the classes I’m taking this fall. 🙂  I can’t wait to learn more specialized skills and information that will apply to my future career goal of working in a medical library.

This fall I will be taking Health Sciences Literature, which provides a “survey of information resources and services in the health sciences.” I had originally planned to also take Information Literacy and Instructional Design, but I’m going to put that off until next fall. Because a new class is being offered for the first time at my school.

The new class is called Actionable Intelligence: Information Analysis and Communication. The Dean suggested that I take it, and I think it looks promising. It will teach us how to “research diverse information sources, assess quality and authenticity of information, and apply intelligence analysis techniques to deliver actionable intelligence for targeted user communities” (course descriptions can be found here). I’m still not sure what “actionable intelligence” means, but I’ll find out!

So I’m excited. But in the meantime I’ll be relaxing a bit….by continuing to work full-time, purchasing textbooks, paying my tuition, returning overdue books to my campus library….and of course catching up on my blog posts. I’m very behind on the CPD23 program…I think they are on Thing 10 or 11….and I haven’t gone past Thing 5. I also want to share about my visit to the National Library of Medicine……that happened a month ago.

Onward & upward!

 

 

Image Copyright (c) 123RF Stock Photos

 

Leave a Reply

