Skip to content
November 9, 2011 / Christian M.

I’m Smarter Than You Because I Graduated with a “D”!

This is a true conversation that happened at the Reference Desk…..

Customer (male, early 20s): “Stop playing girl. Don’t you remember me from way back?”

Me: “No”

Him: “What school you go to?”

Me: “Highschool? I was homeschooled.”

Him: “For real? Stop lying! Every day you woke up and your mom taught you?

Me: “Yes.”

Him: “You’re mother a teacher?”

Me: “No”

Him: “You have any brothers and sisters?”

Me: “Yes….seven brothers, four sisters…”

Him: “Stop playin’! Ya’ll have the same father and mother? And your mother homeschooled all of ya’ll?”

Me: “Yes.”

Him: “Then I’m smarter than you!”

Me: “Umm, no you’re not.”

Him: “Yes I am. I got a D average. Isn’t that good?”

Me:  <shaking my head no>

Him: “It’s not? I never got a 2.0 all through highschool.”

Me: <just staring at him>

Him: “But I graduated from highschool. That’s good right?”

Me: “Yes it is…..GPA doesn’t measure how smart you…it’s about how much effort you put in your work.”

Him: “Yeah….I never did nothing in highschool….but I graduated – and I got a good job.”

Me: “That’s good.”

Him: “I’m still smarter than you, because I graduated from highschool”

Me: “….I graduated from highschool too…”

Him: “How you graduated from highschool? You were homeschooled!”

Me: “My mother had to follow state education requirements. We didn’t just do whatever we wanted.”

Him: “Oh…ok…. So you gonna homeschool our kids?”

Me: “Our kids?? There will be no ‘our kids’!”

Him: “Why you don’t wanna have kids with me? I’ll be a good father. My father was a good father.”

Me: “I already found the man I’m going to have kids with.”

Him: “He’s white, ain’t he?”

Here we go again……..

 

Side note 1: This is a guy who has been trying to get my number ever since I started working here two years ago. He is convinced I won’t date him because I am used to “corny, white guys” and don’t know how to handle someone from “the hood.” <shaking my head> No, more like I prefer intelligent, respectful men who don’t come to the library in the middle of the day smelling like alcohol. However, I was trying to be careful, and not crush his self esteem in regards to his “great” educational accomplishments.

Side note 2: Yes, I was homeschooled (and my GPA was above a 3.0) …but I don’t even like to mention it anymore. 1) I graduated from “homeschool highschool” over ten years ago, and it no longer defines me. I have since completed my bachelor’s degree, and I’m currently pursuing my masters. 2) Unfortunately, many people are still narrow-minded and ignorant about homeschooling, and therefore say ignorant things. I prefer to avoid having my blood pressure raised over blatant and unnecessary attacks on my intelligence and social skills.

This situation didn’t really make me mad though. It surprised, amused, and saddened me. I feel bad that he has such a narrow view of success. I don’t think GPAs and degrees should measure how smart someone is. However, where was this “good father” when this young man was doing nothing all during high school? Who in the world taught him how to approach women? His “hey girl, give me a kiss” mess needs to stop. Trust me; we had a little chat about what is appropriate and inappropriate in the way he talks to me. He was honestly clueless.

 

This is why I can’t stay in public libraries forever….

7 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Evelyn N. Alfred / Nov 10 2011 8:03 am

    Are there a lot of folks like that in public libraries?

  2. LibGirl09 / Nov 10 2011 10:00 am

    Hi Evelyn! Yes, you can find a lot of crazy and weird people in public libraries. However, there are also many lovely, normal people too…I just don’t write about them as much, because it’s not as funny! :p

    Don’t let my stories scare you away from public libraries though. We’re a great resource and usually have something for everyone.

    By the way, if you enjoy crazy stories about library patrons read “Free For All: Oddballs, Geeks, and Gangstas in the Library” by Don Borchert.

    • Evelyn N. Alfred / Nov 12 2011 9:26 pm

      I checked that book out at the library last week, along with two other librarian-ish books. The one I’m reading now is called This Book is Overdue.

      • LibGirl09 / Nov 14 2011 12:38 pm

        I think I checked out “This Book is Overdue” once…but I never finished reading it.

  3. Evelyn N. Alfred / Nov 15 2011 11:53 am

    I’m not surprised you didn’t finish it. There’s one chapter that I’m purposely skipping. The rest of them though have been informative, but I want to hear a perspective straight from a librarian and not from someone from the outside looking in. Next on my list is *Quiet, Please: Dispatches from a Public Librarian.*

    • LibGirl09 / Nov 16 2011 8:55 pm

      What chapter are you skpping (just curious)? Let me know what you think about “Quite Please…” I just checked it out. It’s sitting on my desk at work right now, but I haven’t started reading it yet.

  4. Evelyn N. Alfred / Nov 16 2011 9:05 pm

    I’m skipping the “Wizards of Odd” chapter.

    I’m up to about chapter four in *Quiet, Please* and I’ve laughed several times. I bet the people he mentions in the book are probably ticked off at some of the stuff he says.

Leave a Reply

