Skip to content
November 30, 2011 / Christian M.

Celebrating Two Years…and a Promotion!

Today marks two years as a Library Associate in this public library system, and I will now be promoted to Library Associate II. In Maryland public libraries, after two years of service and the completion of the necessary education requirements, a Library Associate I is automatically promoted to a Library Associate II.  My job description remains the same, but I will be bumped up one pay grade. Yay for me!

 

Lessons Learned…

I continue to learn new lessons each year (of course). This year I learned to volunteer for more responsibility if I feel I’m not being challenged. I have branched out with my children’s services tasks. I took over responsibility for collection development for the children’s materials (and still trying to figure that one out). I also started visiting school classrooms to lead storytimes. Oh, and I took on the Girls Read! program…which is not quite what I thought it would be…but that’s for another post.

Another lesson I learned was to not be afraid to take the initiative to create a new service when I see a need not being met. For instance, I developed and taught my branch’s first adult beginner computer class. We receive so many requests for assistance using the computer, and everyone acknowledged that it would be good to have a group class. However, no one was doing anything about it. So I stepped up.

 

Goals for the Near Future…

My small branch will be closing at the end of next week for a six-month renovation. During that time I will be working in a “medium-sized” branch. I hope to receive more “real” reference questions and continue to improve my reference interview techniques. Also, I will be working under a branch manager that I admire very much, and I hope to learn more about management through observing and working with her.

During the renovation I will also be doing a lot of planning. I want to expand our computer class program to include other skills beyond email and internet, including finding health information online. When we reopen I want to have my curriculum, handouts, promotional materials, and schedule of classes in place. I also need to decide how I want to run the Girls Read! program in the future.

Of course there is also school. I have a couple of weeks left in the fall semester, and I’m currently procrastinating working on two final projects. I am already enrolled in two courses for the spring: Database Management, and User Interface Design & Evaluation. However, I also applied for an internship. If I am selected then I will drop one of the classes and use the internship for course credit. I have an interview on Monday for the internship. Fingers crossed!

 

Looking back:

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Evelyn N. Alfred / Dec 1 2011 6:31 am

    Congratulations on your promotion.

    • LibGirl09 / Dec 1 2011 10:28 am

      Thanks Evelyn!

  2. Lesley / Dec 1 2011 9:37 am

    Congratulations! That’s awesome news! I enjoyed reading about the things you’ve learned and accomplished. Good look on the internship interview!

    • LibGirl09 / Dec 1 2011 10:29 am

      Thanks Lesley!

Leave a Reply

