Skip to content
December 13, 2011 / Christian M.

Good News!

I was selected for an internship position at the Health Sciences and Human Services Library (HS/HSL) at the University of Maryland, Baltimore. I am sooooo excited! I will be working under the supervision of a Reference and Research Services Librarian. Some of the projects we discussed include: creating LibGuides, creating online tutorials, teacher’s assistant for classes & workshops, and assisting in promoting services. The internship has been approved by my school as a practicum so I will receive course credit. I am sooooo excited!

 

Some “fun” facts about the library:

  • Serves as Regional Medical Library for the Southeastern/Atlantic region in the National Library of Medicine’s National Network of Libraries of Medicine
  • Second largest medical school library on the east coast
  • First library in the United States established by a medical school
  • Only health sciences library in Maryland to receive public funding

 

My supervisors have been gracious to allow me flexibility in my work schedule to accommodate the internship. I start in January! This is what I have been most concerned about – finding something to fit around my full-time job. HS/HSL requires a minimum of one day a week, so that is what I will do, eight hours a week. And of course, I will share with you all everything that I will be learning.

 

By the way, I am sooooo excited!

9 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Lesley / Dec 13 2011 8:57 pm

    That’s totally awesome! You know we’ll want to hear all about it right here! Congrats!

  2. Evelyn N. Alfred / Dec 13 2011 10:24 pm

    Whooohoo. I am excited for you.

  3. LibGirl09 / Dec 14 2011 12:11 am

    Thanks Lesley & Evelyn! 🙂

  4. MrsTDJ / Dec 15 2011 1:27 pm

    Congrats to you!! I didn’t realize that you were in the DC metro area. **waving** Hey neighbor!

    • LibGirl09 / Dec 16 2011 1:31 pm

      lol Hey neighbor — thanks!

  5. Variegated Stacks / Dec 19 2011 12:13 pm

    Congrats LibGirl09!!! I am SUPER excited for you. I can’t wait to see the cool things that you will be working on.

    • LibGirl09 / Dec 19 2011 1:38 pm

      Thanks GeGe! I can’t wait to share about my projects. 🙂

  6. Alisha Miles / Dec 21 2011 1:26 pm

    Congratulations! The University of Maryland has some wonderful librarians. If you get a chance visit Dale at the RML where you can learn more about all kinds of medical librarians. Good luck and best wishes on the new internship!!

    ~Alisha

    • LibGirl09 / Dec 21 2011 5:12 pm

      Thanks Alisha! I was told that I would be introduced to the RML librarians too, and learn about what they do. I will definitely look for Dale. 🙂

Leave a Reply

