Skip to content
January 5, 2012 / Christian M.

New Year, New Semester….New Me?

Where is my fairy godmother when I need her???

My spring semester starts in four days. There are some areas that I believe I can improve on. Every semester, I say I’m going to “do better”. Well let’s see if I can actually follow through this time.  Inspired by GeGe’s post, I am going to choose a few measurable goals for this semester.

  • Complete all assigned readings…on time. Every semester I usually fall behind in the readings after a few weeks, and by the middle of the semester I give up altogether. This caused a couple of embarrassing moments last semester when my professor called on me by name and asked my thoughts on the week’s reading …that I had not done at all.
  • Turn in all assignments at least one day before they are due. I have a bad habit of turning in assignments late. I am such a procrastinator, and that close-to-the-deadline adrenaline rush seems to fuel my inspiration. I managed to turn some in on time last semester, however, this time I want to do better than turning something in at 11:58pm that’s due by midnight.
  • Sunday is a day of rest. With a full-time job, part-time internship, and a class, I need to maintain some semblance of balance in my life. So this will be the one day that I won’t work or do homework…and I’ll try not to sleep it away either.
  • Schedule my free time. I need to schedule specific times to complete homework, and stick to it. I also might do all my homework on campus to help me stay focused.
  • Attend at least one local event sponsored by a library organization. It will be hard to fit one in, but I would like to go to at least one activity this semester. It can be a student organization or one of the local professional organizations.

 

Those are my goals! I think they are perfectly reasonable. I don’t want to just “get through” each semester. I want to take opportunities to increase personal growth as well as knowledge and skills for the library field. Overall, time management is what I need to improve most of all. In my observation of health sciences librarians, I have noticed they are involved in a lot of different responsibilities and activities (I’m sure this applies across the board to other librarians).  When I become a professional, I want to already be able to manage my time well. I don’t want that to be something that requires on the job training. I’m sure no one is perfect, and everyone has hectic days, but if there are some smaller things I can do now to better prepare for the multitasking my future career entails, then I need to follow through.

I will check in and let you know how things progress. Don’t be shy — help hold me accountable! 🙂

What goals or resolutions have you set for yourself recently?

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Evelyn N. Alfred / Jan 5 2012 7:53 pm

    As far as libraries are concerned my goals are to get a paraprofessional job at a library and to volunteer at one.

    • LibGirl09 / Jan 7 2012 1:04 pm

      Good luck with your goals! 🙂

  2. lisachow / Jan 10 2012 7:49 pm

    Good luck with the semester & your goals.

Leave a Reply

