Skip to content
January 31, 2012 / Christian M.

Library Day in the Life 8: January 30th

This post is a part of the Library Day In The Life Project, Round 8. It’s a great opportunity for library workers to learn from their colleagues and share more information about the library profession.

Today I will be sharing about my internship. I am a graduate student pursuing a master’s degree in library science. This semester I am interning at an academic health sciences library. I am working in the Services division, and will be assisting the Reference and Liaison librarians with special projects.

8:30 – 8:45 am: Checked my email and responded to meeting invitations.

8:45 – 9:30 am: Shadowed the Reference & Research Services Librarian at the reference desk.

9:30 – 10:00 am: Meeting with the Liaison Librarian to the Dental School. We discussed the LibAnswers questions that she needs for her LibGuide. She gave me a couple of questions that are currently not included in the LibAnswers knowledge base. I need to draft answers for those questions.

10:00 – 11:00 am: I printed out all the LibAnswers questions currently in the knowledge database, and started identifying the ones that need to be tagged for the Dentistry LibGuide. One of the questions she gave me is a database question: “How do I print a copy of my search strategy for Ovid Medline?” She said if I don’t know how to do this myself, we can schedule some time for her to train me on this database. I spent some time reviewing Ovid Medline’s features to see if I could figure it out on my own.

11:00 – 11:30 am: Meeting with the Director of Services. My main project during this internship will be to create a LibGuide about health careers for high school students. This guide will include the healthcare industry forecast, and highlight certain positions. For each position I will include information (or links) on workforce projections, position descriptions, education requirements, salary, etc. It is up to me to decide on the scope of this LibGuide, i.e. whether it will focus on just the health care workforce in this city or the whole state, how many careers to include, etc. It is a lot of information to collect and organize.

11:30 am – 12:30 pm: Started researching information for Health Careers LibGuide. I called the Bureau of Labor Statistics’ Information Sources office to ask for guidance in finding stats on workforce projections. They directed me to the appropriate section of their website, and from there I found the Career Guide to Industries.

12:30 pm – Lunch

1:00 – 2:00 pm: Continued research for health careers LibGuide.

 2:00 – 2:30 pm: Received a review of LibAnswers. I learned how to tag a question by topic, and how to create new topics.

 2:30 – 4:30 pm: Continued work for the LibGuide and LibAnswers projects. I developed a to-do list and timeline for my projects. I am currently working on three projects simultaneously. The two already mentioned, as well as a flyer promoting one of the library services. The flyer is due before the other projects.

7:00 – 9:30 pm: I attended my Database Management class. We discussed and practiced normalizing tables and establishing relationships between tables. We are learning database design using SQL Server 2008 R2. I’m definitely going to have to make time to practice some more on my own this week…if I still remember what the professor said.

Image Copyright (c) 123RF Stock Photos

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Lesley / Feb 1 2012 7:15 pm

    Sounds like an interesting day! 🙂

Leave a Reply

