Skip to content
April 7, 2012 / Christian M.

Spring Update

It’s been over a month since my last post. I thought I should give a brief update to let you all know what’s been going on with me

This week marks two months since my father passed away on February 3rd. Following his death, I only took about a week off from school and work and then jumped right back into my responsibilities. I didn’t have much leave at the job, and I really didn’t want to fall behind with my homework and internship. It was okay at first. But the last few weeks I’ve been feeling kinda burned out and unmotivated. I don’t know if it’s an emotional issue or just the fact that with the full-time job and part-time internship, I end up working six days a week, which can be draining. Anyway, I am feeling a little better now. I’m definitely looking forward to the end of the spring semester though, so I can relax more.

My internship is going great! My main project is creating  the Maryland Health Careers LibGuide. This will be a subject guide geared towards high school and college students to provide information on career paths in the health care industry. I am highlighting the top 15 careers for Maryland, and will include links to many types of resources. Of course, when I’m finished, I’ll post a link on my blog to the guide so you can see the fruit of my hard labors. Because it has not been as easy as I thought it would be to find some of the resources I want to use. Interestingly, there are over thirty states in the U.S. that have an official state health care career website. However, Maryland is not one of them. So, I am definitely filling a void. My LibGuide may not be as in-depth as some the other websites, but it will definitely provide students with a good starting point in considering a career in health care.

My other course is Database Management. We are learning the basics of designing a database using SQL Server 2008 R2. The class is going okay. I’m actually getting good grades, which surprises me with each assignment. I’m never quite sure if I am doing something correctly. However, my professor provides good feedback on the assignments and lots of hands-on exercises in class. So, it’s coming along. But don’t ask me to explain anything to you. When I do something right, I honestly can’t tell you why it’s right. lol

I will be giving my first professional presentation next week. I have been invited to speak on a panel for the Department of Health and Human Services Libraries Consortium Meeting. The panel will be discussing the transition from library school to the workplace, and I will be giving my student viewpoint of my expectations of the workplace after graduation. I am excited because this will be awesome networking opportunity since I am interested in medical libraries. I’m kind of nervous though. I will report back how it goes. 🙂

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Evelyn N. Alfred / Apr 8 2012 4:21 pm

    Wow. Sorry to hear about your father. You have so much courage to be able to write about it. I haven’t found that yet.

    Glad to hear that you’ll be presenting soon though. I hope your networking pays off.

  2. LibGirl09 / Apr 9 2012 12:54 pm

    Thanks Evelyn.

  3. aprilbrarian / Apr 9 2012 2:32 pm

    Thanks for your openness. I’m so sorry to hear about your dad. Congrats on the presentation opportunity and good luck!

  4. LibGirl09 / Apr 10 2012 9:32 am

    Thanks April.

Leave a Reply

