Skip to content
June 19, 2012 / Christian M.

Summer Activities

I am definitely enjoying this summer without classes.  However, I am not completely idle.  There are a few projects I’m working on.

  •  I decided to start pursuing the Medical Library Association’s Consumer Health Information Specialization (CHIS). Under this program, a person has three years to complete a certain number of MLA-approved continuing education (CE) hours in order to receive the specialization. My internship supervisor told me that some of the courses are offered online – for free! I didn’t know that. So I found the schedule, and decided to take two e-courses this summer. Anyone interested in providing consumer health information can enroll – you don’t have to be pursuing the CHIS. The courses are asynchronous, and students have 5-6 weeks to complete each course at their own pace.
  •  My school’s Special Libraries Association (SLA) Student Group advertised the need for a volunteer Content Manager to improve and maintain their website and manage their email account. I emailed the group and expressed my interest as well as my prior experience with a non-profit organization managing website content and email accounts, and publishing a monthly newsletter. I was selected for the position! I have a meeting with the president of the SLA student group at the end of this month where I will receive more details on my responsibilities. I know my major project for the summer will be reviewing current procedures and website content and making recommendations for improvements. Then I will implement the changes that are approved.  I will hold this position through the school year until I graduate in May 2013. This is a perfect opportunity because it is something I can do remotely, it allows me to become more involved with the student body, and it is another experience to add to my resume.
  •  I would also like to create an e-portfolio this summer. Right now I’m checking out other info professional’s portfolios to get ideas of what to include. I’m not sure if I will be able to finish before the end of the summer. However, I definitely want to complete it before the start of final semester in January.

 
So that is what’s going on with me right now. I’ll keep you updated on how these projects turn out.

What are your summer plans? Any classes or special projects – or are you just relaxing?

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. lisachow / Jun 22 2012 11:02 am

    I completed the MLA’s CHIS in 2010. Most of the CE hours I got were from the National Network of Libraries of Medicine (NNLM) in-person classes, also free. Good to know that online ones count towards the CE hours. Getting involved with SLA student chapter’s website is a great learning opportunity. I was involved with Pratt student chapter of SLA as webmaster/website manager and did a redesign of the website. You can continue to edit/tweak your e-portfolio once you have it up; I’ve changed my e-portfolio many times since initially putting it up. Have a good summer.

    • LibGirl09 / Jun 22 2012 6:15 pm

      Thanks Lisa for sharing about your experiences. You make a good point about continuing to tweak an e-portfolio. I guess I have been looking at it as a project that needs to be “finished”, but it is more like a resume that would continually updated as I gain more experiences.

Leave a Reply

