Skip to content
August 22, 2012 / Christian M.

Lucky Numbers and the Search for New Love….

I realized it has been a while since I have shared any tales from the reference desk. Below are a couple of situations  from the past few months. As usual, I promise you, I could not make these up if I tried.

 

 

 

At our library we set out baskets full of guest passes for computer use, for those who don’t have a library card. The numbers on the passes are randomly generated by the computer reservation software. We have a woman who picks through all the guest passes looking for the one with the “right number.” One day one of my co-workers saw her and said: “People are lucky about a lot of things, so i can understand.” The woman replied: “Oh, no! I don’t call them lucky numbers. I call them good numbers. Certain numbers have good spirits, like 1, 3, 7, and 9.” After she found that day’s right number and walked away, my co-worker and I just looked at each other and shook our heads.

 

Last week, I answered a phone call that still has me shaking my head…
Me: “Information Desk, this is Christian, how may I help you?”

Him: “Hi…I need your help….my 80-year-old girlfriend just died of cancer….and I need to find some dating websites, so I can find another girlfriend.”

Me: “……….” [in my head I’m wondering if this is a prank call]

Him: “Are you single?”

Me: “No I’m not.”

Him: “Oh….I’m in my thirties and I like to date older women….50s to 80s. Eighties is middle age, right?

Me: “No, eighties is a senior citizen. … So you are looking for dating websites for younger men to meet older women?”

Him: “Yes! But websites with phone numbers, not emails. I’m dyslexic, I can’t do emails.”

Me: “I’m not sure I can help you with this….”

Him: “The librarian at the Upper Marlboro library did it for me. They just looked up the numbers for me.”

Me: “Do you live near one of our branches, where you could come in person, and someone could get you started on an internet search?”

Him: “No, I’m in Baton Rouge. I’m calling from my cell phone.”

Me: “Baton Rouge, Louisiana?”

Him: “Yes.”

Me: “Is there a library there that you can visit in person?

Him: “No, can you just look it up for me?”

Me: “Most dating websites require an account and email. I don’t see any that just have phone numbers.”

Him: “None? I had one – LiveLinks. I want to find others like that.”

Me: “I don’t see any others like that.”

Him: “Well can you read me the names of the ones you found? And spell them for me?”

[I did not want to sit there spelling out “olderwomendating.com”, etc, so I chose a different tactic]

Me: “Sir, I have a long line of customers in front of me right now, and I am not able to continue helping you at this time. But what I will do is give you the number to the library system in Baton Rouge, and they can help you in person, OK?”

Him: “But, can you just spell the names of the sites you found?”

Me: “Do you have something to write with? Ok, this is the number for the central branch in Baton Rouge: 225——-. Did you get that?”

Him:….yes….

Me: Okay, you have a nice day.”

Afterwards, I found out another co-worker had already spoken to him before I did. He had told her that he just won 1 million dollars from Publisher’s Clearinghouse. He also gave her his spiel about being dyslexic and looking for an older woman, and asked if she was single, because she has a nice voice. Then my co-worker transferred him to the Info Desk, and I was lucky enough to pick up the phone. * sigh *

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. amh6890 / Aug 22 2012 12:49 pm

    Ew. Ew. Ew.

    • LibGirl09 / Aug 23 2012 7:29 am

      lol He was very weird.

  2. Evelyn N. Alfred / Aug 22 2012 11:04 pm

    Whaaat?!? Public libraries rock! 🙂 It’s better than tv.

    • LibGirl09 / Aug 23 2012 7:32 am

      Giiiiirrrrrlllll, you just don’t know! Just wait….if you stay in public libraries after you finish your degree, it won’t take you long to start collecting stories too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

