Skip to content
October 2, 2012 / Christian M.

Happy National Medical Librarians Month!

October is National Medical Librarians Month! If you don’t know what a medical librarian does, here are a couple of articles from the website Explore Health Careers.org.

Remember my post last year about my dream job? As I continue to learn more about medical librarianship and encounter new experiences, I continue to further develop my idea of a dream job. It used to be in the hospital setting….but academia is looking really good to me right now….

I will be commemorating this wonderful month with a couple of activities.

First, I have an interview this week for a potential volunteer opportunity at a local consumer health library. They like my resume, and I like the projects they have proposed. The interview is more of a formality. If all goes well I will start volunteering there later on this month, and will continue to assist them for a couple of months. More details to come!

Second, I will be attending the Medical Library Association Quad Chapter Meeting in Baltimore, MD, October 13-16th. This will be a meeting of four chapters: Mid-Atlantic, Southern, New York/New Jersey, and Philadelphia Regional.  I am so excited! This will be my first MLA chapter meeting. Not only am I looking forward to learning new information from the sessions, but I am also looking forward to networking (as much as I really dislike networking). I have my business cards ready. I will be graduating in  seven (7!!!) months — you never know which connections or chance meetings may lead to future job interviews. Of course I will post about my conference experience.

🙂

 

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Evelyn N. Alfred / Oct 3 2012 10:59 pm

    Good luck on the network front. 🙂

    • LibGirl09 / Oct 4 2012 5:03 am

      Thanks Evelyn!

  2. lisachow / Oct 11 2012 10:08 am

    Look forward to reading your conference recap. I attended the 2010 NY-NJ MLA chapter meeting and had a great time facilitating one of the roundtable discussions. Can’t make it to this year’s though.

Leave a Reply

