Skip to content
October 15, 2012 / Christian M.

MLA Quad Meeting Recap Part 1

My cute outfit for Saturday’s receptions.

This weekend I have been attending the Medical Library Association Quad Meeting in Baltimore, MD. This is a meeting of the MAC, Southern,NY/NJ, and Philadelphia Regional chapters of MLA.

On Saturday, I attended the Student/New Member Reception, and the Opening Reception. This was an evening for everyone to meet & greet.

I felt a little overwhelmed at first. Not just because I’m an introvert, but because everyone seems to know each other already. Chapter meetings are smaller than national conferences, and since most of the librarians have been in the field for many years, they are very connected to their colleagues in the chapter as well as some in neighboring chapters. At first, I felt like I was a stranger attending someone else’s family reunion.

However, everyone I met was very friendly. Some librarians did introduce themselves to me. Also, I saw about 12-15 local librarians that I had met previously either through my internship, informational interviews, or through classes/e-courses. So there were some familiar faces, and they in turn introduced me to other librarians. I made several new connections and received some great insight on the health sciences career path.

Also, as a first time chapter conference attendee, I received a conference buddy. My buddy was Beverly, a librarian at Duke University. She is a very outgoing and fun person, with a lot of experience as a health sciences librarian. We will definitely continue to keep in touch.

Some results from my connections/reconnections over the past few days:

I learned so much and have more to share – stay tuned for part 2 (and probably part 3) for my recap on the keynote speakers and sessions!

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Evelyn N. Alfred / Oct 15 2012 9:45 pm

    Did this event happen at a hotel? I think Bethany might have been at this same event. She mentioned having to do a presentation on Sunday, and she is a medical librarian at Howard.

  2. Evelyn N. Alfred / Oct 15 2012 9:48 pm

    I think Bethany was at this event too.

    • LibGirl09 / Oct 16 2012 1:19 am

      Yes — I met Bethany! I had lunch with her yesterday and we had a good talk about medical librarianship. 🙂

Leave a Reply

