Skip to content
November 6, 2012 / Christian M.

Internship #2

 

Last month I started an internship at the National Resource Center for ADHD in Landover, MD. The National Resource Center is a nonprofit organization that serves as the nation’s clearinghouse for science-based information about all aspects of ADHD. It was established in 2002 to combat all the inaccurate information being presented on ADHD.  Their library is maintained by a solo librarian. The library has an online database, and a small print collection. It is open to the public by appointment only, however, most of their users access the resources through the website.

I am interning under the supervision of the librarian. The projects we discussed include:  selection of news articles for the weekly ADHD in the News email, selection and acquisition of published materials on ADHD written for the layperson, copy cataloging of materials in the library’s Inmagic Database, indexing of publications using controlled vocabulary, and other tasks as needed.

This internship is much more informal than my first one, and I will not receive course credit. I am working there only four hours a week. There are no hard deadlines or major projects (as of yet). Each week I complete whatever tasks are assigned to me. So far I have been selecting news articles for the weekly email, and cataloging. I do have a desk, and an organization email.

I am enjoying myself so far. It is a very quiet environment and I work on my projects alone. This is a nice change of pace from the reference work I do at the public library.

I’ll keep you updated on how things go.

On a related note, here is a recent post from the Hack Library School blog with Tips for Making Internships Work for Everybody!

 

Leave a Reply

