Skip to content
March 6, 2013 / Christian M.

Library Student Day in the Life, 3/6/13

This post is a part of the Library Student Day In The Life Project, Round 1. It’s a great opportunity for library science students from around the world to share about their experiences in school and at work.

I attend The Catholic University of America part-time, and I will be graduating in May (yaay!!!). My school is on spring break this week,  but as my fellow students know, the homework doesn’t stop just because we’re on break.  :)   Currently, I work full-time as a Library Associate II for a public library system. I am also on the job hunt, as I would like to switch from public librarianship to health sciences librarianship.

Today was a very grey and cold, snowy/rainy/windy day. Schools and local governments were closed due to the winter storm watch. However, my library system remained open (despite other surrounding library systems closing for the day).  I started the morning feeling a little bummed about not getting a snow day off, but the weather turned out to not be as bad as predicted. The snow didn’t stick in my area and turned to rain before the day was over.

My library opened at 12 noon, and the neighborhood children were already waiting at the door. I spent most of the day babysitting sitting at the Children’s Info Desk. I received no reference questions, just requests for additional time on the computers. So to pass the time, I have been reading blogs, and following other people’s #HLSDITL tweets. It’s almost 6pm now, and we have two more hours before closing.

I think I should probably be a little more productive and spend the last couple of hours maybe reviewing some journal articles for my upcoming comps exam. My library science program requires a comprehensive exam in order to graduate. The exam is based on material covered in the four core classes. The format is a 2,500 word research paper. On March 15th at 9:00 am, the research question will be released on Blackboard. Then we have until March 17th at 9:00 am to write and submit the paper. It is open book, but still we are expected to prepare in advance by re-familiarizing ourselves with the core class topics and also recent trends in library science.

I have been preparing already, but I’m still nervous. Not so much about writing a paper, but because I don’t know the topic yet, and there is a strict 48-hour time limit. *Tries not to feel stressed due to procrastinator tendencies.*  I can do this ….  but I’ll be so much happier when it’s over. Sigh.

My mother has asked what I want to do to celebrate my graduation. I honestly don’t know, and I don’t really care right now. I can’t wrap my mind around that thought right now. I just need to FINISH.

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Remy @MLISunderstanding / Mar 22 2013 9:05 pm

    My mother has asked what I want to do to celebrate my graduation. I honestly don’t know, and I don’t really care right now. I can’t wrap my mind around that thought right now. I just need to FINISH.

    I had that exact conversation. I waver between “Is it OVER yet??” and “ACK, I have so much left to do!” I think I’ll take a month off after graduation (not off of my day job, but anything extra). That’s my celebration: to do housework!

    • LibGirl09 / Apr 15 2013 11:28 am

      Ha ha, I’m glad I’m not the only one feeling this way. 🙂

  2. Lesley / Apr 13 2013 8:38 pm

    Congratulations on being so close to the finish line! Good luck with job hunting! Keep us posted!

Leave a Reply

