Skip to content
May 6, 2013 / Christian M.

They Picked Me!!!!

kids-girl-007

Good news, no, GREAT news! On April 26th, I interviewed for the National Library of Medicine Associate Fellowship. They made their decision really quickly. On Tuesday, April 30th, I was notified that I was selected for the program. Of course I accepted! There will be a total of five fellows this year, and we will start in September.

So this means that I will be leaving my job in the public library in a few months. I’m so excited and ready for this next step in my career. September can’t get here soon enough!

At the moment, my plan is to continue my current job until the end of July. Then take the month of August “off” to relax and visit family/friends before the fellowship begins. So far, my finances are looking good to be able to cover my expenses for the month I will not be working.

I’m still interning with the NRC Library. I haven’t set an ending date yet, but will probably wrap it up at the end of this month. During the NLM interview day, I met with Joyce Backus, Associate Director for Library Operations. We talked about this internship, and she questions about selection criteria and whether there are written guidelines (since part of what I do is select internet resources). Well, there aren’t. So I went back and talked with my internship supervisor, and now my current project is writing a set of guidelines so there will be consistency and continuity with future interns.

I have one final exam left to take (it’s take-home and I’m totally procrastinating), and my graduation ceremony is in less than two weeks. I will come back soon and maybe do a post talking about how I prepared for applying and interviewing for the fellowship. I also want to talk about my experience as an ARL scholarship recipient this year.

Did I mention — I’m SOOOOO EXCITED!!!!!

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Evelyn N. Alfred / May 6 2013 6:43 pm

    Great news. Congrats to you. Moving on up. 🙂

  2. lisachow / May 9 2013 2:16 pm

    Congrats! I was just visiting the NLM booth at the MLA conference the other day. Enjoy your time off.

Leave a Reply

