Skip to content
August 28, 2013 / Christian M.

Taking Classes at the Med School (Sort of…)

doctor_13

Being the busy bee that I am, I’m always on the lookout for extra courses or activities I can participate in to boost my employ-ability and expand my knowledge of the health sciences. One such opportunity that I’ve had my eye on is the Georgetown University Mini-Medical School. This mini-med school provides a twice-a-year, 8-week session of lectures on various aspects of the human body and medicine.  The class curriculum mirrors that of a first-year medical student, although I assume it is simplified some for the layperson. The sessions are open to the public as well as to university faculty, staff and alumni.

I wanted to enroll in mini-med school last year, but there were conflicts with my classes or other activities. Now my evening schedule is open and I can find new things to add on. So I have enrolled in the Fall session which starts in October. The topics for this session are anatomy, pharmacology, mind-body medicine, infectious diseases, psychiatry, dermatology, orthopaedic surgery, and obstetric care and genetics. I will do my best to take the time to blog about what I will be learning.

Through participating in this mini-med school, I hope to gain more knowledge of the human body and its conditions, more familiarity with medical terminology, and some insight into the experience of medical students (since I’m interested in working in academia).

Want more information about mini-med schools in general or want to find one near you? Visit the website of the NIH Office of Science Education. They have a Mini-Med School Locator. However, I will warn you that some of the programs on the list are not running at this time. If this is something that interests you, definitely check it out. Georgetown does charge a fee for their program, but I have seen some other universities that offer their mini-med school for free.

Have you participated in a mini-med school before? If so, what was your experience?

Leave a Reply

