Skip to content
October 1, 2013 / Christian M.

Happy October 1st…from Home…

Well the fellowship has come to a pause due to the government shutdown. We came in for a couple of hours this morning, and then we were sent home.

In the meantime, I will be making a firm decision on which fall projects I want to complete. I had hoped to meet with my preceptor (what they call our mentors for the fellowship) today to receive some advice. I feel like I should go ahead and make the decision though, so that I can be ready to get started when things return to normal. I decided to choose two projects. Right now I have a “top four”, and need to figure out which two I am most interested in. All five Associates have to choose from a list of proposed projects that are submitted by the various divisions/units. Fortunately, there is such a wide of range of interests among the Associates this year, and a good variety of the types of projects possible, that there was very little overlap in project selection. So we won’t have to fight  negotiate with each other for projects. I can’t discuss what my potential projects are at this time though…

Another thing I may do with my time off is write more blog posts. Great idea, right? 😉 I would like to write some type of “intro to NLM” post because I think many non-librarians (and especially those not involved in health care) don’t have a full understanding of everything that NLM does. I know I didn’t. I’m still learning, and I know I can’t cover it all in one post.  There is so much more than meets the eye with this library, and I wish more of the general public knew what a gem this institute is to our country (and to the world really). Other topics will probably relate to interesting information I have gleaned from courses, or meetings.

Today starts the beginning of National Medical Librarians Month. The theme this year is “Saving You Time So You Can Save Lives”. Related to this theme is an interesting post, “Should Your Doctor Consult the Librarian?” which discusses an article by Julia Sollenberger that examines the evolving role and value of librarians in health care.

Today also marks the opening of the Health Insurance Marketplace. See healthcare.gov for more information on signing up for insurance. Resources for librarians who will be assisting patrons in using the Health Insurance Marketplace can be found on the ALA website.

Well that’s all I have to share for now.  🙂

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Lesley / Oct 9 2013 4:58 pm

    Your NLM fellowship sounds so awesome, really impressed that you’re an NLM Fellow! Rats on the shutdown, but it sounds like you have the right attitude in making this a planning phase. Hope you and your NLM colleagues are back at it soonest!

Leave a Reply

