Skip to content
December 16, 2013 / Christian M.

Three Months In…

IMG_20131014_081220

Pittsburgh from my hotel window.
2013 MAC-MLA Meeting

It’s been three months since I started the Associate Fellowship. I am one-fourth of the way finished. Oh my, time is flying by! The fellowship is going very well. I just wanted to give a little update on what I have been up to lately.


Also, I have been working on my fall projects!

  • Project#1: Creating a video tutorial on how to use Semantic MEDLINE. Semantic MEDLINE is a web application that summarizes citations from a PubMed search, extracts predications from the titles/abstracts, and presents the predications in a graph format. It helps in managing PubMed search results, and in selecting which articles to read. I chose this project because I am interested in instruction and wanted more experience creating online tutorials.
  • Project#2: Developing pre-formulated PubMed searches for selected disaster health topic pages. The Disaster Informational Management Research Center maintains a website with health information related to various types of disasters. They include links to pre-formulated database searches. I chose this project because I wanted more experience with using PubMed and developing search strategies.

That’s all for now — I’ll try to update you again much sooner than three months!

Leave a Reply

