Skip to content
March 19, 2014 / Christian M.

Halfway Done — Already???

hourglass_123rf crop

Copyright 123rf Stock Photos

Yes, it’s true, my fellowship is halfway completed. I have six months left to go…actually it’s more like 5.5 months now. It feels like it was just yesterday that I was submitting my application. In reality, it has been a year since I received the news that I had been selected for an interview. Now the interviewees for the 2014-2015 cohort have already been selected, and I am receiving emails asking for interview advice. How the time flies.

We just finished the curriculum portion of the fellowship at the end of February. Normally, we would have been finished by the end of January, but the government shutdown and some of the snow days pushed it back.

Now I am focused on spring projects.

  • Project #1: Redesigning the Associate Fellowship Program website. The website is primarily used to recruit applicants for the program, and there is general discontent from many users about the design and content. This project involves assessing user needs, developing a content matrix and gap analysis, creating a mockup for the new design, communicating with a developer to make the design happen, editing/adding content, launching the new site, and gathering feedback. Right now I am working on user needs assessments and the gap analysis. I’m really excited about this project, and looking forward to the finished product.
  • Project #2: Creating mapping files for MedlinePlus Connect, which is a service that enables health professionals and patients to receive information from the Medlineplus website through their electronic health record systems. A mapping file creates a connection between specific medical codes and relevant resources from MedlinePlus. I’m working on mapping files for dietary supplements.

I’m also spending some time applying for jobs. I would really prefer to stay in the DC area, but I’m also looking within four hours driving distance as well.  So far I have applied to two jobs (I know, only two). I have a few applications I’ll be working on this weekend though. I need to start putting more energy into the job hunt. The next five months will fly by before I know it.

Leave a Reply

