Skip to content
March 5, 2015 / Christian M.

The Winter That Never Ends…and Other News

This is my "I'm so done with winter" face.

This is my “I’m so done with winter” face.

(I apologize in advance for this long post…)

Hello readers…it’s been seven weeks since my last post and weather-wise not a whole lot has changed. We’ve had more snow, sleet, ice, and artic temperatures…and I am so ready for spring. I was watching the news yesterday and they were talking about how the long winter is contributing to incidents of snow rage around the country. I believe it. Surprise, surprise, it’s actually snowing right now. I’ve heard predictions calling for as much as 8-10 inches in the Baltimore area. Sigh. Fortunately, the university closed and it’s a snow day for me. But enough about the weather….

Working With Students

In my last post, I mentioned that I was starting to take student consults on my own. That is going very well. I have been mostly working with graduate students in the International Health department in the School of Public Health. In the past couple of months, I have met with maybe eight or nine students. Some of them have required multiple meetings or follow up emails. I have helped them with identifying the main concepts of their topic, selecting search terms, understanding the importance of using both controlled vocabulary and keyword terms, and translating search strategies from one database to another. I also provide instruction on how to use databases like PubMed, Embase, Scopus, Web of Science, Global Health (Ovid), WHO Global Health Library, and PopLine. I love teaching, and I love to see the “ah-ha” moment when students understand how to format a search strategy or use a particular database. I also love how grateful they are for my help. It’s always nice to be appreciated.

The conference room where I currently hold my consultations.

The conference room where I currently hold my consultations.

I currently hold my office hours by appointment in a conference room in the Library’s touchdown suite in the School of Public Health building. Students are referred to me by an informationist. Although I did receive a request directly from a student who heard about me from one her classmates. Recently, there has been in an increase of students asking for consultations that are working with a specific research center that is in a separate building. One of the informationists has inquired if I could have regular office hours at that research center. We’re still waiting to hear back from them. That would be great if it works out.

Patient Education & Consumer Health

I am continue to spend one day a week at the Harrison Medical Library/Community Health Library on the Bayview Medical Center campus. I’m still working on collection development.There are also a couple of “fun” activities I have been able to assist with. The Bayview library director holds office hours at the campus’ cardiology clinic. She collaborates with a physician, and is provided with a private room next to the exam room the physician is using. This room has a computer, internet, and access to the network printer. The physician will bring patients to the librarian before or after an appointment and tell the librarian what type of information would be helpful for the patient. The patients are always happy to comply and their time with the librarian is usually brief, maybe 10-15 minutes. We showed them MedlinePlus and the American Heart Association website, and provided them with folders that contained relevant brochures or printouts from the web. We had one patient that was more “advanced” in his internet searching skills, so we gave him a brief intro to PubMed, and told him to contact the library for further assistance with using the database and accessing full-text. I enjoyed this experience more than the visits to inpatient rooms, because from what I observed, the outpatients seem more likely be in a mental state where they are ready to learn and more interested in asking/answering questions.

Another fun activity this week was attending the Bayview Medical Center Patient Education Committee meeting. The library director wasn’t able to attend, so she asked me to go in her place. This week, we spent most of the time working on editing a draft of a patient handout that was written in-house. The handout was on preventing blood clots during a hospital stay and was written by a working group that included nurses, pharmacists, physicians, hospital quality control, and others. The handout was sent to the Patient Education Committee for feedback. So we sat and talked about it, and came up with ways to simplify the language, use better definitions, reorganize the content, etc. At one moment, we were discussing how blood clots (or venous thromboembolisms) are defined. One person started to do a Google search, and another nurse wondered aloud how MedlinePlus describes a blood clot. Fortunately, I had my smartphone with me and could look it up on the spot. I really enjoyed participating in that process, and appreciated that my input was asked for and listened to.

Collaborating for a Healthier Community Unconference

I’m really excited to be leading a group in organizing the inaugural “Collaborating For a Healthier Community Unconference” on June 20th in Washington, DC. I’ll talk more about this in another post. But short and sweet: This an opportunity for interactive discussion and building new partnerships related to promoting community health and health information. The target audience is public health professionals, medical professionals, lay health workers, librarians, and community organizers. If you’re involved in health/health information outreach programs and services and you want to share your expertise, or learn from others in a collaborative environment – this is the place to be. Registration opens in April. You can find more details on our unconference wiki page. Hope to see you there!

The Job Hunt

Last but not least, my time at Welch Library has been (and still is) awesome…but all good things come to an end at some point. The end of my fellowship is only six months away. So it’s time to start looking for jobs. So far I have applied to one job. I still have some time. But I need to get on the ball and start looking more actively, and get into the job hunting mindset. Because everyone knows that looking for a job is a part time job in and of itself. Wish me luck. 🙂

Those are all my updates for now. More to come soon!

Leave a Reply

