Skip to content
July 27, 2015 / Christian M.

Hot Weather and Hot News (or, I Have a New Job)!

1468609317_79ec2ca537_b (2)Wow, I can’t believe it’s been four months since my last blog post. Winter is long gone and now it’s so hot. But I’m not complaining. I’ll take heat and humidity over cold weather any day! The past few months I’ve been busy with job applications & interviews, attending conferences, facilitating an unconference, giving presentations, and wrapping up my last year as an NLM Associate Fellow. I will do some additional recap posts…soon. But first, my most important hot news: I have a new (permanent) job!

I have accepted the position of Nebraska/Education Coordinator for the National Network of Libraries of Medicine, MidContinental Region. I will lead in developing an education plan for this region, and also lead in the promotion of our trainings and presentations. I will also be doing outreach to Nebraska health professionals, librarians, and the general public to promote National Library of Medicine products and databases, as well as other quality health resources. I will be based out of the McGoogan Library of Medicine in Omaha, NE where I will have faculty status and will also be involved in reference services to the University of Nebraska Medical Center (such as research support for faculty/students or consumer health info requests). So basically I’ll be really busy doing all the things I love. 🙂

This also means that I will be relocating from the east coast to the midwest. This will be an adjustment, but I’m excited! I have already found an apartment, and I am driving out there today. So many changes! I’m sure I will have plenty to write about. 😉

You may be wondering, what is the National Network of Libraries of Medicine (NN/LM)? Well I’m glad you asked. The NN/LM is a program coordinated by the National Library of Medicine and has been in existence for over forty years. Its mission is to:

“…advance the progress of medicine and improve the public health by providing all U.S. health professionals with equal access to biomedical information and improving the public’s access to information to enable them to make informed decisions about their health.”

This program splits the U.S. into eight regions, and each region has a Regional Medical Library that receives federal money and is responsible for using that money to provide training sessions and outreach to promote awareness of, and access to National Library of Medicine resources and other quality health information.The MidContinental Region where I will be working includes Nebraska, Utah, Colorado, Kansas, Wyoming, and Missouri. The Regional Medical Library (RML) for this region is the Spencer S. Eccles Health Sciences Library in Utah. The MidContinental Region uses a distributed model to staff it’s region and the outreach coordinators are based in different states. So I will be based in Nebraska, but my other coworkers are based in other states in our region. We rely very heavily on technology to keep in touch and collaborate.

I’ve always thought it would be fun to work for a Regional Medical Library, and I’m really excited this opportunity is available. Well I need to go hit the road now. Stay tuned for more updates!

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Evelyn N. Alfred / Jul 29 2015 8:47 am

    Woohoo! Dippin’ it and doin’ it. 😀
    Congratulations.

Leave a Reply

