Skip to content
July 16, 2016 / Christian M.

Change is Constant, Just Ask Heraclitus

making-change (3)

 

“Change is the only constant in life.”

-attributed to Heraclitus, Greek philosopher

On May 1st — just eight months after starting my job — my job title and job description changed. I knew the change was coming… Originally I was hired to do full-time education and outreach for the National Network of Libraries of Medicine, MidContinental Region (NN/LM MCR) through a grant-funded position. After I accepted the position, I was notified that the funding for my position would be reduced by 50% in the next fiscal year (starting May 2016). Fortunately McGoogan Library (my “host library”) had money in their budget to make up the difference. So I’m still working full-time, and have benefits and faculty status.

So what am I doing now?

I continue to work half-time for NN/LM MCR. As an Outreach & Education Coordinator my job still includes promoting health information resources through:

  • Exhibiting at conferences and health fairs
  • Giving presentations and teaching
  • Coordinating webinars and other distance education for a 6-state region
  • Writing articles for local publications
  • and more…

The other half of my job is as an Education & Research Services Librarian for University of Nebraska Medical Center. My responsibilities include:

  • Liaison to Nebraska Medicine (hospitals, clinics, and cancer center). My primary focus right now is participating on the patient education committee, and providing library orientations for residents.
  • Promotion of the Consumer Health Information Resource Service (CHIRS). I am managing a project to revitalize CHIRS and increase awareness and use of this service.
  • Literature searches and systematic reviews (I’m currently collaborating on my first systematic review!).
  • Serving on library committees.
  • and more…

Sounds like two full-time jobs, doesn’t it?

do-all-the-things

 

“A pessimist sees the difficulty in every opportunity; an optimist sees the opportunity in every difficulty.”

-Winston Churchill

It has been quite an adjustment going from one full-time position to two half-time positions. Even though I knew change was coming and decided to keep the position anyway, it’s still not exactly what I expected. There are moments when I feel a little overwhelmed and frustrated. But I enjoy the work that I do, and I see the opportunity to add a lot of valuable experience to my resume. This is a very unique position and I plan to take full advantage of all that it has to offer.

More updates to come!

Have you ever been in a situation where your job description changed? Did it turn out to be a difficulty or an opportunity?

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Evelyn N. Alfred / Jul 17 2016 8:40 am

    I’ve never been in a situation like this. If given the option to do one of them full time, which one would you pick?

    • Christian M. / Jul 17 2016 5:30 pm

      Good question! I’ve been asking myself the same thing. I’m not sure. I think at the moment, I would probably lean more towards the outreach & education with NN/LM. More autonomy and more opportunities for different types of outreach and community collaborations.

Leave a Reply

