Skip to content
June 30, 2017 / Christian M.

Time Continues to Fly…as I Start a New Job

the-eleventh-hour-758926_1920_pixabay

Several months ago, I was reflecting on my first year on the job. Now I am starting a new position next week.

Today is my last day working as Education Coordinator with the National Network of Libraries of Medicine (NNLM). I have enjoyed this grant-funded part of my work coordinating educational activities for the six-state MidContinental Region and engaging in outreach to promote National Library of Medicine resources. However, it’s time for a change. The work of NNLM is so important, and I do feel a little sad to be leaving this soon. But I look forward to hearing more about upcoming national initiatives and supporting their efforts in whatever way I can from “the outside.”

I did start looking for jobs and briefly considered relocating again. However, McGoogan Library made me an offer I could not refuse, and I will be staying on at the University of Nebraska Medical Center. What is most exciting is that I was given the opportunity to create my own job description. Who can say no to that???

So my new title is: Community Engagement and Health Literacy Librarian.

You may be wondering, what does a Community Engagement and Health Literacy Librarian do? Ummm, since I wrote the job description, whatever I want do obviously. (Just kidding!!!) I will be responsible for managing the library’s Consumer Health Information Resource Service (CHIRS), which serves Nebraska residents and patients/families of the Nebraska Medicine health system. I will direct the library’s outreach to support community health in Nebraska through educational sessions and collaborations with other libraries and community agencies. I will also collaborate with faculty, staff, and students at the university who are involved in activities related to community engagement, health literacy, and health equity.  And on top of that, I will have liaison responsibilities to specific departments or programs at UNMC, and provide literature searches for faculty and staff.

So parting is sweet sorrow…..but, O-M-G I am so excited by this new position! I look forward to sharing more details soon!

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. bibliotecaria08 / Jun 30 2017 7:06 am

    Congratulations Christian!!

Leave a Reply

