Skip to content
August 6, 2017 / Christian M.

One Month In…

It has been two years since I started working for the University

Office Pic Jul 2017

In the office on my birthday.

of Nebraska Medical Center, and one month since I started my new position as Community Engagement and Health Literacy Librarian.

The first month has been good. It is such a relief to only focus on one position instead of two, and it’s been exciting to become involved in more of the “community engagement” projects within the university.

Here are some of the things I have been doing so far:

  • Managing a 6-month pilot partnership with the Buffett Cancer Center Resource and Wellness Center. We have library faculty or staff at the Resource Center four hours a day to answer consumer health questions. I liaison between the manager of the Resource Center and the library, handle schedule for staffing, outline policies and procedures for library’s role, and help select appropriate books and brochures appropriate for cancer patients.  I will also take the lead in assessing the success of the pilot.
  • Promoting the Consumer Health Information Resource Service (CHIRS) within the Nebraska Medicine health system. I am reaching out to primary care clinics and asking to attend staff or provider meetings to talk about CHIRS. I spoke with nursing staff at a geriatrics clinic, and I have a few more scheduled so far over the next couple of months.
  • Giving feedback on university projects. A task force is working to develop a plan for UNMC’s role in rural health. I was invited to review their paper and attend a meeting to give input. Another group is exploring opportunities for outreach to provide science education and advocacy for the public. I’ve been attending meetings and participating in conversation.
  • Continuing to contribute to the library’s strategic planning process. I have been leading the outreach team for several months, and we have been working on outlining initiatives and metrics for CHIRS, and library marketing and promotion activities.

I feel like these type of projects energize me and make me feel excited about coming to work. Looking forward to sharing more soon!

 

 

Leave a Reply

